The 2018 World Series of Poker saw its season start at the end of May and this past weekend the series wrapped up as a winner was crowned in the Europe Main Event. In this article we get you caught up with all the action with Shaun Deeb becoming the latest WSOP Player of the Year while Jack Sinclair took down the Main Event.

Jack Sinclair Takes Down the 2018 WSOP-E Main Event

This year the World Series of Poker Main Event in Europe drew a total of 534 entries for this €10,000 No Limit Hold’em tournament. After five days of play, the final table was set including 2013 WSOP Main Event winner Ryan Riess and 2017 WSOP Main Event finalist Jack Sinclair. Chip leader coming into the final table was Serbian Milos Skrbic followed by Riess and Laszlo Bujtas.

The first player to get eliminated was Ihor Yerogieiev from Ukraine. Yerogieiev cashed for €175,965 after his sixes did not hold up against the ace-queen of chip leader Milos Skrbic. A few hands later Jack Sinclair doubled through Skrbic with aces versus queens to grab a huge chip lead with five players remaining.

In a drastic turn of events, Skrbic was knocked out not too long after that taking home €241,718. Laszlo Bujtas saw his ace-queen hold up against the king-jack of Skrbic and only four players remained.

Going for his second WSOP Main Event title, Riess had all eyes on him with four remaining players. Things, however, didn’t work out for him as he got knocked out holding sevens versus the aces of Krasimir Yankov. Riess collected €337,778 for the fourth largest score of his live tournament career.

The final three players started relatively close in chips and after two hours of play it was Krasimir Yankov who busted out in third for €480,028. Sinclair knocked out Yankov when a river shove with a flopped set got called by a mere pair of deuces.

On the final hand of the tournament, a short-stacked Bujtas shoved holding jack-seven and Sinclair called it off with queen-nine. The board brought a queen for Sinclair and Bujtas collected €692,573 for finishing in second place. Sinclair collected the top prize of €1,122,239 for the biggest score of his career and one of the most coveted bracelets in the game.

2018 WSOP Europe Main Event Final Table Payouts
Name Country Payout € Payout $
1 Jack Sinclair United Kingdom € 1,122,239 $1,279,352
2 Laszlo Bujtas Hungary € 693,573 $790,673
3 Krasimir Yankov Bulgaria € 480,028 $547,232
4 Ryan Riess United States € 337,778 $385,067
5 Milos Skrbic Serbia € 241,718 $275,559
6 Ihor Yerofieiev Ukraine € 175,965 $200,600

Shaun Deeb’s Stellar Year

Cashing no less than 16 times and collecting two bracelets in the process during the summer stretch of the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas, Shaun Deeb laid a strong foundation for his Player of the Year aspirations. Traveling to Rozvadov for the European leg of the WSOP, Deeb had to worry about very few players as Ben Yu, John Hennigan, and Joe Cada were his only realistic competitors.

In Rozvadov, Deeb capped off an impressive year by cashing another four times and finishing second in the €1,650 Pot Limit Omaha/No Limit Hold’em Mixed event for €63,731. In total Deeb made four final tables and cashed for more than $2.5 million finishing with more than 5,000 points in the Player of the Year race. Here are the final standings of the 2018 WSOP Player of the Year race.

2018 World Series of Poker Player of the Year Standings
Name Cashes Final Tables Wins Winnings Points
1 Shaun Deeb 20 4 2 $2,545,623 5,073.92
2 Ben Yu 15 4 1 $2,781,467 3,746.04
3 Joe Cada 7 4 2 $3,025,439 3,531.86
4 John Hennigan 12 4 1 $1,320,566 3,499.91
5 Scott Bohlman 12 4 1 $739,858 3,155.88
6 Michael Addamo 5 3 2 $1,981,897 3,028.78
7 Paul Volpe 8 3 1 $1,379,499 2,859.76
8 Anthony Zinno 14 2 0 $334,286 2,330.37
9 Eric Baldwin 12 1 1 $378,705 2,516.30
10 Romain Lewis 9 4 0 $871,970 2,460.14

Eager to watch some poker after getting caught up with the latest news? Jump to PokerGO right now and watch both live and on-demand content when it suits your calendar. This week ‘888poker’ week presents two thrilling Sit & Gos that feature Chris Moorman and Maria Ho. Looking for some original content? Try out ‘Beyond the Rail’ and go behind the scenes at the 2018 World Series of Poker.

Ryan Riess, Joe Cada, Shaun Deeb, WSOP Player of the Year, Laszlo Bujtas, Ben Yu, John Hennigan, 2018 World Series of Poker, Jack Sinclair, 2018 World Series of Poker Europe, Ihor Yerofieiev, Krasimir Yankov, Milo Skrbic