For the most part, major tournament action is on hiatus for a couple weeks as players around the world ready for the yearly pilgrimage to Las Vegas for the summer. First up is the $300,000 Super High Roller Bowl on May 28th, with five players in the Top 20 GPI Player of the Year race that’s been dominated by Bryn Kenney for months.

Kenney’s lead is as slim as its been over the last few weeks, but it’s still at 362 points – which is about equivalent to a win in a large, high-profile event.

Ari Engel moved in back into the second spot as his year-round grind continues. Engel lives on the road, travelling full time on the circuit. Since March he’s played and cashed in Las Vegas, Sacramento, Panama City, Panama, Tulsa, Hollywood, Florida, Milwaukee, Cherokee, North Carolina, Atlantic City and Montreal.

Engel’s most recent cash was a fifth-place finish for $173,560 at the partypoker Million North America Main Event. On his way to Montreal he stopped by the Borgata to finish runner-up in a Six Max event after cashing in the WSOPC Cherokee Main Event a couple days earlier.

Dylan Wilkerson re-joined the Top 20 spots after he took 31st place in a $1,200 Parx Big Stax event and prior to that he cashed in 95th place at the partypoker Million North America event. His largest cash of the year so far was for winning the WSOPC Los Angeles Main Event for $216,790 and 386.42 POY points.

After Kenney, Nick Petrangelo (5th) is the next highest ranked SHR Bowl player, followed by Koray Aldemir (7th), Byron Kaverman (9th) and Don Colman came in at 20th this week. It’s a very real possibility that the final seven players of the SHR Bowl could re-write the standings in a couple weeks.

Top 20 GPI POY Standings (As of May 19)

1. Bryn Kenney – 2,840.97 (-)
2. Ari Engel – 2,478.79 (+4)
3. Sergio Aido – 2,463.57 (-1)
4. Daniel Dvoress – 2,430.71 (-1)
5. Nick Petrangelo – 2,392.76 (-1)
6. Manig Loeser – 2,262.69 (-1)
7. Koray Aldemir – 2,176.14 (-)
8. Mustapha Kanit – 2,109.57 (-)
9. Byron Kaverman – 2,108.44 (-)
10. Steve O’Dwyer – 1,938.12 (-)
11. Andreas Klatt – 1,892.07 (+1)
12. Timothy Adams – 1,854.35 (-1)
13. Yang Zhang – 1,829.25 (-)
14. Dylan Wilkerson – 1,645.09 (NR)
15. Felipe Ramos – 1,629.23 (-1)
16. Anthony Spinella – 1,601.87 (-1)
17. Ryan Riess – 1,597.28 (NR)
18. Loni Harwood – 1,592.58 (-2)
19. Jack Salter – 1,571.95 (NR)
20. Daniel Colman – 1,568.06 (-3)
Dropped from Rankings:  Charlie Carrel (18th), Mikita Badzaikouski (19th), Dan Smith (20th)