The Poker Players Championship will always be a legendary event at the World Series of Poker where poker’s finest strive to have their name etched on the Chip Reese Memorial Trophy.

Michael Mizrachi, Brian Rast, John Hennigan, and most recently Phil Hui have all won the event, but in the formative years of the event, it was run as a H.O.R.S.E. mix instead of the 8-game that it is currently. There were four $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. winners with David Bach being the last in 2009, Scotty Nguyen in 2008, Freddy Deeb in 2007, and David “Chip” Reese in the inaugural year of 2006.

On today’s Run it Back show, Remko Rinkema sat down with 2011 WSOP bracelet winner Allen Bari to relive the 2007 WSOP $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. final table. The five-day event attracted a 148-player field and saw the prize pool swell to $7,104,000 as the final table consisted of chip leaders Amnon Filippi and Freddy Deeb, along with Kenny Tran, John Hanson, David Singer, Bruno Fitoussi, Barry Greenstein, and Thor Hansen all fighting over the $2,276,832 first-place prize.

Watch Run it Back with Allen Bari | 2007 WSOP $50k H.O.R.S.E. now on Poker Central’s YouTube channel.

Eventually, it would be France’s Fitoussi heads-up against Lebanon’s Deeb, and on the final hand during Stud Hi-Lo, Deeb made an eight-low and a pair of fives to scoop Fitoussi’s ace-high and no-low. Deeb won his first WSOP bracelet and nearly $2.28 million in prize money.

Bari and Rinkema take a deep dive into the final table and break down all the action while Bari – who cashed in the 2010 Poker Players Championship – also imparts some of his mixed-game wisdom to the viewers. Go watch Run it back with Allen Bari now!

World Series of Poker Main Event coverage is available right now on PokerGO. Check out the WSOP Classic collection and watch the best moments from past Main Events including Johnny Chan’s quest for a third title, the meteoric rise of Chris Moneymaker, and Joe Cada setting the record as youngest champion.

WSOP, Remko Rinkema, Allen Bari, Freddy Deeb