Remko on the Rail is your bite-sized news bulletin to get you caught up on the overwhelming amount of action from the 2018 World Series of Poker! In this edition, we get you caught up on the Player of the Year standings, a $25,000 Fantasy Update and the latest bracelet winners from the Rio.

The three latest winners are Filippos Stavrakis, Benjamin Dobson, and Hanh Tran, all of which collected their first gold bracelet. England’s Benjamin Dobson, who took down the $1,500 Stud Hi-Lo Eight-or-Better event for $173,528, won the first UK bracelet of 2018. Dobson defeated a stacked final table that included Georgios Sotiropoulos, Jesse Martin, and Tim Finne, and turned out to be a tough final-table battle. Martin, going for his third bracelet, was in command for much of the final table before finishing third while Tim Finne, the fourth-place finisher in this event last year, is still left looking for his first bracelet after busting in second place.

$1,500 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo Eight-or-Better Payouts
Name Country Prize
1 Benjamin Dobson England $173,528
2 Tim Finne United States $107,243
3 Jesse Martin United States $74,324
4 Richard Monroe United States $52,359
5 Tom McCormick United States $37,504
6 James Nelson United States $27,321
7 Georgios Sotiropoulos Greece $20,248
8 Peter Brownstein United States $15,271

The final table of the $1,000 Pot Limit Omaha event saw all eyes focus on Brazilian poker star Felipe ‘Mojave’ Ramos, who was looking for his first bracelet. Ramos, rooted on by his fans from all over the world via social media, kept his short stack alive for many hours before busting in third place. In honors of his late brother, Filippos Stavrakis took down the tournament for $169,842 after besting Jordan Siegel heads up.

$1,000 Pot Limit Omaha Payouts
Name Country Payout
1 Filippos Stavrakis United States $169,842
2 Jordan Siegel United States $104,924
3 Felipe Ramos Brazil $73,989
4 Clinton Monfort United States $52,879
5 Peter Klein United States $38,309
6 Pascal Damois France $28,137
7 Thayer Rasmussen United States $20,957
8 Georgios Karavokyris Greece $15,832
9 Robert Cowen United Kingdom $12,133

Last night, Austrian Hanh Tran went wire-to-wire at the final table to capture his first WSOP bracelet and the third ever for his home country. The loaded final table of this $1,500 2-7 Triple Draw tournament included highly regarded pros such as Jared Bleznick, Brian Hastings, and David Prociak. Tran ultimately defeated Oscar Johansson from Sweden heads-up to claim the $117,282 first prize.

$1,500 2-7 Triple Draw Payouts
Name Country Prize
1 Hanh Tran Austria $117,282
2 Oscar Johansson Sweden $72,471
3 David Prociak United States $46,729
4 Cody Wagner United Kingdom $30,926
5 Brian Hastings United States $21,021
6 Yong Wang China $14,687
7 Jared Bleznick United States $10,555

Player of the Year Update

The 2018 World Series of Poker Player of the Year race has not seen much movement, as Elio Fox has maintained his big lead after a blazing hot start with a first and second place finish to kick things off. Since Fox has cooled down, while John Hennigan, Paul Volpe and Joe Cada continue to rack up results Given the mixed game volume Volpe and Hennigan are putting in, they are clear favorites in the race this year. However, one more big score from Fox could put the POY race to bed for another few weeks. Since winning his bracelet in the 10-Game Championship, Adam Friedman has racked up three more cashes and he looks to climb the ranks with many of his games still to come.

2018 World Series of Poker Player of the Year Standings
Name Cashes Final Tables Wins Winnings Points
1 Elio Fox 3 2 1 $2,201,327 2,010.14
2 John Hennigan 4 2 1 $464,360 1,727.27
3 Joe Cada 5 2 1 $262,553 1,692.71
4 Paul Volpe 4 2 1 $757,185 1,671.30
5 Arne Kern 1 1 1 $1,173,223 1,332.47
6 Nick Petrangelo 1 1 1 $2,910,227 1,269.75
7 Roberly Felicio 1 1 1 $1,000,000 1,264.46
8 Craig Varnell 3 1 1 $185,645 1,194.63
9 Michael Addamo 1 1 1 $653,581 1,183.92
10 Adam Friedman 4 1 1 $300,650 1,162.40

$25k Fantasy Update

After a blazing hot start by teams cashing in on the Colossus field bonus, the field standings are being drawn closer together after into the third week of action. Team FTGB still has a commanding lead thanks to both Craig Chait and Alex Foxen getting the Colossus field bonus while Team Tuner made a big lead when Mike Wattel and Dario Sammartino both made the final table of the $10,000 2-7 No Limit Single Draw event. Your favorite team, Team GO Barstool GO, is amidst a strong comeback with David ‘Bakes’ Baker finishing second in the $10,000 H.O.R.S.E. while David Prociak took third in the $1,500 2-7 Triple Draw.

Click on your favorite team to see how their players are performing.

$25k Fantasy Standings

1 Team FTGB 480
2 Team Turner 396
3 Team Noori 373
4 Team Fleyshman 349
5 Team Vanbex 339
6 Team Chase 291
7 Team GO Barstool GO 283
8 Team Theodosia 273
9 Team GordoHellMan 258
10 Team Eldridge 218
11 Team Martins 174
11 Team Gridiron Gamble Podcast 174
12 Team Brunson 171
13 Team Negreanu 113
14 Team Leah 68

Don’t miss a minute of PokerGO’s WSOP coverage, as we bring you all the live action you ever wanted! Subscribe right now and watch final table coverage of all the big events, as well as wall-to-wall WSOP Main Event coverage.

Elio Fox, Joe Cada, Dario Sammartino, $25k fantasy, WSOP Player of the Year, Felipe Ramos, Paul Volpe, John Hennigan, Mike Wattel