Today, the Global Poker Index announced its nominees for the inaugural Global Poker Awards in 13 different categories. A panel of 130 members selected the nominees from shortlists created by the GPI. On April 5th, 20 trophies will be awarded to nominees from 10 different countries as the show will be broadcast live from the PokerGO Studio.

About the Global Poker Awards and its nominees, GPI and TheHendonMob President Eric Danis said, “I’m really happy with our partnerships with PokerStars and Poker Central. To have the very first Global Poker Awards presented on PokerGO is very important for us. Being able to work with legendary talents like Mori Eskandani and Dan Gati is amazing.

We have another incredible list of nominees this year. Tons of talent from players, to media to industry powerhouses – I can’t wait to see who takes home one of the 20 Global Poker Award trophies on April 5th!”

The first edition of the Global Poker Awards are presented by PokerStars and sees many former American and European Poker Award winners on the list of nominees.

Lance Bradley, Mori Eskandani, Joe Ingram, Cary Katz, Lon McEachern, Andrew Neeme, Daniel Negreanu, Matt Savage, Nick Schulman, Jason Somerville, Jaime Staples, Remko Rinkema and several events and organizations are up for awards after having previously been successful in either America or Europe.

Drew Amato, Sarah Herring, Lance Bradley, Remko Rinkema, Justin Bonomo, and Lex Veldhuis are nominated in two categories this year. Poker’s power couple Alex Foxen and Kristen Bicknell will receive the GPI Player of the Year awards during the ceremony and for Bicknell this means back-to-back Female Player of the Year honors.

Here’s an overview of the categories with nominees in alphabetical order.

Tournament Performance of the Year
Justin Bonomo (Super High Roller Bowl IV)
John Cynn (WSOP Main Event)
Maria Lampropulos (PCA Main Event)
Dylan Linde (WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic)
Breakout Player of the Year
Almedin “Ali” Imsirovic
Maria Konnikova
Ping Liu
Christopher Michael Soyza
Streamer of the Year
Jeff Gross
Jason Somerville
Jaime Staples
Lex Veldhuis
Vlogger of the Year
Marle Cordeiro
Joe Ingram
Andrew Neeme
Daniel Negreanu
Doug Polk
Poker Podcast of the Year
LFG Podcast (Chad Holloway, Jamie Kerstetter)
PokerCentral Podcast (Brent Hanks, Remko Rinkema)
PokerNews Podcast (Sarah Herring, Jeff Platt)
The Chip Race Poker Podcast (David Lappin, Dara O’Kearney)
The Fives a PocketFives.com Podcast (Lance Bradley, Donnie Peters)
Broadcast of the Year
Maria Ho
Lon McEachern
Nick Schulman
Lex Veldhuis
Poker Journalist of the Year
Drew Amato
Sarah Herring
Remko Rinkema
Christian Zetzsche
Media Content of the Year
Drew Amato (photo: Brunson bids farewell to WSOP)
Lance Bradley (book: The Pursuit of Poker Success)
Haley Hintze (article: Vayo v. PokerStars)
PokerCentral/GO (Super High Roller Club: Schulman featuring Nejad)
Industry Person of the Year
Angelica Hael (World Poker Tour)
Cary Katz (Poker Central)
Matt Savage (WPT, TDA, more)
Ty Stewart (World Series of Poker)
Rob Yong (Dusk Till Dawn, partypoker)
Tournament Director of the Year
Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock)
Paul Campbell (ARIA)
Jack Effel (WSOP)
Kenny Hallaert (Unibet Open)
Mid-Major Tour/Circuit of the Year
888poker Live
RUNGOOD Poker Series
Unibet Open
WSOP Circuit
Event of the Year
partypoker Caribbean Poker Party Main Event
Super High Roller Bowl IV
WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic
WSOP Main Event
Moment of the Year
Jeremy Hilsercop receives PSPC Platinum Pass (with help from Joe Ingram, Arlie Shaban, PokerStars and the poker community) as video of wife gifting him trip to WSOP on Christmas day goes viral
Joe Cada wins WSOP The Closer; registering for the event moments after remarkable 5th place finish in WSOP Main Event
Doyle Brunson plays his final WSOP event
Justin Bonomo wins Big One for One Drop, completing Super High Roller Streak (SHRBChina, SHRBIV, One Drop)
Other Trophies Presented at the Global Poker Awards
2018 GPI Poker Player of the Year (Alex Foxen)
2018 GPI Female Player of the Year (Kristen Bicknell)
Award for Lifetime Achievement in Poker
Charitable Initiative
Jury Prize
PocketFives Legacy Award
People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year

New to PokerGO? Subscribe right now and watch more than 100 days of live poker, the Global Poker Awards, as well as an extensive on-demand library that includes some of the greatest poker ever played on TV!

Jeff Gross, Ali Imsirovic, Global Poker Awards, Justin Bonomo, Dylan Linde, Jason Somerville, Maria Konnikova, Marle Cordeiro, John Cynn, Maria Lampropoulos, Ping Liu, Lex Veldhuis, Jaime Staples, Christopher Syoza