Over the last few weeks, the World Series of Poker Player of the Year race and scoring formula has been a hotly contested topic across the poker landscape. That POY race just lasts a year though, while the Poker Hall of Fame is a lifetime achievement for both poker players and industry members.

After a public nomination process, the PHOF Governing Council has announced the finalists that are eligible for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame in 2017. The current 27-member Hall of Famers and an 18-person blue ribbon panel of media members will determine who joins this exclusive club later this year.

The 2017 Poker Hall of Fame Finalist List includes three of last year’s finalists, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David “Devilfish” Ulliott, as well as five previous nominees, David Chiu, Ted Forrest, Thor Hansen, Mike Matusow and Huckleberry Seed. The two new candidates for nomination in 2017 are Mori Eskandani and Phil Ivey.

Eskandani has been a staple in the poker world for the last decade and earlier this year, won the American Poker Award’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Eskandani is the man behind Poker PROductions, which is responsible for the very World Series of Poker Main Event stream that is currently on ESPN.

Ivey needs no introduction. The ten-time bracelet winner, pictured above, is one of the best to ever play the game. Despite not having a live tournament cash since early 2016, Ivey is still in the top-five of poker’s all-time money list and while he has yet to make an appearance at this year’s World Series of Poker, will always be synonymous with poker’s biggest series.

The 2017 Class of the Poker Hall of Fame will be inducted as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities in Las Vegas on July 21 during the ESPN telecast.