A huge arrival of a living poker legend, the winner is crowned in the biggest-ever poker field in history and Cary Katz reaches the final table of the Shootout event. Shots were fired and found their targets on Day #10 of the 2019 World Series of Poker


One of the biggest winners in poker history will be a poker quiz question for years to come. Who paid $500 to enter a World Series event and won over $1.1 million in the process? Femi Fashakin is the answer after the man who had previously only cashed for just under $60,000 won a life-changing seven-figure score in Event #3 as the Big 50 was finally concluded.

After nine days of action, it was Fashakin who would take home the $1,147,499 top prize after triumphing over Paul Cullen heads-up. The final days play lasted almost seven hours and will live long in the memory of all the fans who were there to witness an emotional Fashakin achieving his poker dream.

Final Table Results:

Position Player Prize
1 Femi Fashakin $1,147,449
2 Paul Cullen $709,183
3 Rafi Elharar $534,574
4 Nick Chow $405,132
5 Walter Atwood $308,701
6 Daniel Ghobrial $236,508
7 Adrian Curry $182,192
8 Morten Christensen $141,126
9 David Rasmussen $109,922


It’s always exciting to see big names arrive for their first tournament, but when that player is Phil Ivey, everyone gets that little bit more excited. The man is an enigma, despite having lived much of his life in the spotlight, and poker legend pitched up to play the O8 Event, sitting just two seats away from record WSOP bracelet holder Phil Hellmuth.

Ivey may not have survived to Day 2, as Ken Aldridge (1,178,000 chips) took a healthy chip lead into the next day’s play, but nor did Hellmuth, busting even earlier to leave, head to the Millionaire Maker and run up a big stack. One player who did make Day 2, and in decent shape chip-stack wise was Shaun Deeb (652,000 chips). The runaway 2018 WSOP Player of the Year will be confident of adding more final table points at the very least to his score today.


Today, Cary Katz will have another great chance at winning his first WSOP gold bracelet as the Poker Central founder has put himself in great shape to do so by conquering the Shootout tables so far in Event #17. A magical set of fours against Michael Ciaravino’s top two pair was the pivotal hand, but when beaten, Ciaravino was quick to credit his opponent and declare the event ‘a pleasure’.

With all the players holding almost exactly the same chips (between 220 big blinds and 231 big blinds going into today’s final table), the seat draw is of more importance, with a truly International feel to the action. We don’t need to tell you to stay tuned to PokerGO for all the live action, but we will anyway!

Final Table Seat Draw:

Seat Player Country
1 Brett Apter United States
2 Anatolii Zyrin Russia
3 Marko Maher Slovenia
4 Shintaro Baba Japan
5 Adrian Scarpa United States
6 Michael O’Grady United States
7 Kenna James United States
8 Cary Katz United States
9 Manuel Ruivo Portugal
10 Tommy Nguyen Canada


Elsewhere at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino, Daniel Negreanu locked up plenty of chips as he bagged up ahead of Day 2 in Event #20, the $1,500 Seven-Card Stud tournament. Constantine Moustakis has the lead with 76,600 chips, but David Singer (69,000), Daniel Negreanu (56,900), Julien Martini (56,100), Andre Akkari (50,400) and Barbara Enright (49,300) have all played themselves into real contention.

Isaac Baron and Ong Dingxiang go head-to-head for the bracelet in Event #16, the $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em 6-Max tournament, with Baron having a minor chip lead of 24 million to 21 million in chips.

Watch all the action unfold live today on PokerGO and CBS All Access as more coverage of the 2019 WSOP bracelet events takes place. Selected bracelet events will be streamed exclusively on CBS All Access in the United States.

Phil Ivey, PokerGO, Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, Cary Katz, Julien Martini, Poker Central, Michael O'Grady, 2019 World Series of Poker, 2019 wsop, World Series of Poker 2019, WSOP 2019, Brett Apter, Tommy Nguyen, David Singer, Barbara Enright, Constantine Moustakis, Marko Maher