One of the events slated for its final day today is the $2,500 Big Bet Mix featuring Mike Sexton. At this final table, Sexton chases a unique record, as he’s on the verge of becoming the first player in poker history to win a World Series of Poker bracelet 30 years after winning his first. Back in 1989, Sexton won his first bracelet in the $1,500 Seven Card Stud event for $104,400 and he’s not been able to repeat a similar feat since.

To date, Sexton has $6.6 million in career tournaments earnings including a World Poker Tour victory in 2016 when he took down the Montreal stop. The Poker Hall of Fame member won the 2006 Tournament of Champions for $1,000,000 and in 2012 he finished ninth in the first ever Big One for One Drop for $1.1 million. At the WSOP, however, Sexton looks back on 30 years filled with close calls preventing him from becoming a two-time champ.

Sexton has two runner-up finishes at the WSOP, in 2002 and 2011, as well as four fourth-place finishes in 1992, 1995, 1996, and 2008. The latter score, $248,160 in the $10,000 Pot Limit Omaha Championship, is Sexton’s biggest open event result at the WSOP.

At the final table today, Sexton goes up against the likes of Ryan Hughes, Arthur Morris, Phillip Hui, Joseph Couden, Jonathan Depa, and Loren Klein with $127,808 up top. PokerNews will provide reporting of this event.

Watch the full life story of Mike Sexton on Pokerography on PokerGO.

The WSOP Record Books

Scouring the WSOP record books this morning has taught me that Sexton could grab two records at once with a win today. Sexton could become the player with the largest gap between two bracelet wins as well as the largest gap between their first and last win. Up until just a few days ago, the largest gap between wins was held by David ‘Chip’ Reese with 24 years between wins (1982-2006) before Jim Bechtel took down the $10,000 2-7 No Limit Single Draw Championship a staggering 26 years after his Main Event win in 1993.

Currently, there are 23 players that have won a bracelet at least 15 years after their first including Daniel Negreanu (1998-2013), Erik Seidel (1992-2007), and John Hennigan (2002-2019). The record, as it stands, is held by both Doyle Brunson and Phil Hellmuth who managed to win bracelets as far as 29 years apart. Today, Sexton can become the first player ever to do it 30 years apart.

The full list of players with at least 15 years between their first and most last bracelet win is as follows.

Name First Last Difference in Years Total Bracelets
Doyle Brunson 1976 2005 29 10
Phil Hellmuth 1989 2018 29 15
Chip Reese 1978 2006 28 3
Billy Baxter 1975 2002 27 7
Jim Bechtel 1993 2019 26 2
Jay Heimowitz 1975 2001 26 6
Mickey Appleman 1980 2003 23 4
Ted Forrest 1993 2014 21 6
Johnny Chan 1985 2005 20 10
Hans Tuna Lund 1978 1996 18 2
Amarillo Slim 1972 1990 18 4
Johnny Moss 1970 1988 18 9
Berry Johnston 1983 2001 18 5
Chris Ferguson 2000 2017 17 6
Stu Ungar 1980 1997 17 5
Peter Vilandos 1995 2012 17 3
John Hennigan 2002 2019 17 6
Frankie O’Dell 2003 2019 16 3
Starla Brodie 1979 1995 16 2
Hoyt Corkins 1992 2007 15 2
Dody Roach 1981 1996 15 2
Erik Seidel 1992 2007 15 8
Daniel Negreanu 1998 2013 15 6

As players such as Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, Ted Forrest, Chris Ferguson, John Hennigan, and Erik Seidel look to stay active at the World Series of Poker, it is highly likely that this record will extend to 40 years or more but for now, it’s Sexton’s crown for the taking.

Looking to watch the World Series of Poker? Subscribe to PokerGO and CBS All Access to catch it live and on demand. 

Phil Hellmuth, Doyle Brunson, Billy Baxter, johnny chan, Chip Reese, 2019 World Series of Poker, Jim Bechtel, Johnny Moss