The final day of play of the 2017 Aussie Millions Main Event was a grueling final table that saw the amateur best a lineup of pros to win the title. Shurane Vijayaram won a $130 qualifier into the $10,000 seat and ran it up to a AUD$1.6 million payday.

Vijayaram ran up against WSOP bracelet winners David Olson and Fedor Holz with former Main Event final tablist Jeff Rossiter and British pro Ben Heath. Holz finished in third place in the $100,000 Challenge the day prior.

Pokernews was on-hand and captured Vijayaram’s thoughts after the win. “Absolutely amazing, it’s like a dream!” he said.

“I qualified last Sunday night in a AUD$130 rebuy tournament. First Aussie Millions satellite I ever played, this the fourth-ever tournament I played at Crown. I’ve played poker for a long time but I’m more a cash game player than a tournament player. I’m just getting back into tournaments now,” said VIjayaram.

Vijayaram gets his first live result in one of the most prestigious Main Events in the world compared to Holz who recently crossed the $20 million-mark in all-time earnings. 

Heath wrapped up a month where he earned $282,380 – he finished runner-up for AUD$1 million, he took eighth place in the PSCB $25,000 High Roller and won a $15,000 Eight Max on the final day in the Bahamas. Olson earned his first six-figure cash since his bracelet win in the 2014 $10,000 Limit Hold’em Championship. 

The Main Event drew 725 entrants for a AUD$7.6 million prize pool for the third-largest Main Event field in their history and second year in a row over 700 entrants. Jason Somerville also hosted the largest live poker broadcast to date on Twitch with over 30,000 viewers worldwide. 

Final Table Payouts (AUD)

1. Shurane Vijayaram – $1,600,000
2. Ben Heath – $1,000,000
3. Tobias Hausen – $620,000
4. Jeff Rossiter – $440,000
5. Fedor Holz – $335,000
6. David Olson – $270,000
7. Luke Roberts – $210,000