The 2017 Aussie Millions swung into action with a huge field for the AUD$1 million Guaranteed kickoff event. Four starting flights drew 1,565 entrants, cruising past the guarantee and Robert Raymond won the event for AUD$320,830.

A single European, Manig Loeser, cracked the final table with the Aussies and Kiwis filling the other seats. A handful of Americans had deep runs with Dylan Wilkerson (22nd), Seth Davies (36th), Ryan D’Angelo (71st) and Darryll Fish (144th) all cashing.

Final Table Payouts (AUD)
1. Robert Raymond – $320,830
2. Qiang Fu – $198,115
3. Michael Addamo – $117,910
4. Alexander Lynskey – $85,810
5. Manig Loeser – $57,750
6. Jack Efaraimo – $41,705
7. Samir Khoueis – $35,290

Event 2: AUD$2,500 HORSE event actually awarded the first championship ring of the Aussie Millions as it wrapped up before the huge opening event played out. James Chen took down the tournament with 49 entrants for AUD$39,700.

Chen entered the final day with twice the stack of anyone else and outlasted a final table that featured British pro Richard Ashby. 

Final Table Payouts (AUD)
1. James Chen – $39,700
2. Ranier Quel – $25,355
3. Richard Ashby – $16,535
4. Jarryd Godena – $12,125
5. Jarrett Bullock – $8,825
6. Dylan Honeyman – $7,710

Event 3: $1,150 No Limit Hold’em Shot Clock Shootout did well with 153 entrants for an AUD$156,825 prize pool. Austrian Thomas Muehloecker won the event for AUD$40,125 at a final table that featured 2016 Aussie Millions Main Event winner Ari Engel.

While many in poker are behind the idea of a shot clock in poker, Engel voiced his displeasure, not on the event but the concept at large, in a series of Tweets.

While Engel’s stance that it deters players from the game, attendance for the event was up over the 126 entrants in 2016. Seventeen players made the money for winning the first round of shootout tables. 

Final Table Payouts (AUD)
1. Thomas Muehloecker – $40,125
2. Henry Szmelcer – $26,775
3. Dejan Boskovic – $17,365
4. Shoshiro Karita – $13,445
5. Pregen Stokkan – $11,090
6. Ryan Van Sanford – $9,130
7. Ari Engel – $7,565